About Us


Our Story

My husband and I began this journey in 2014 when we got married and then bought a beautiful log cabin with nearly two acres of land in a rural area of western Massachusetts. Neither of us had owned a home before, so while we had a vague idea of what we were doing and lots of support, it was new territory for us. We affectionately named our new property “Ginger Gardens” because we are both red-haired. I began putting my creativity and my green thumb to use, and he began to brainstorm and then implement ways that he could make our home more efficient.

Together, we began building our paradise.

First, we added quite a number of furry friends to our family – even more than the four we already had. Every one of them was a rescue. We’re always talking about expanding our menagerie, and have even occasionally acted as a temporary home for foster animals.

Then in the summer of 2015, we had our first baby and began our adventures in parenting. The number of choices we had to make at that point was dizzying, and we know there will be many more along the way. We decided that I would work from home so I could manage the household and be there for the little one as well as any future children we have.

This site covers the wide range of topics we deal with in the lifestyle we’ve chosen, according to our experience with them. Some of the common subjects include gardening, home improvement, animals, parenting, and wellness. I even cover many of my various creative projects.

If you ever have any questions, comments, or suggestions about what we’ve done or how we did it, please share! We would love to know whether we helped you, or whether we could have done something better. Ideas for new projects are also much appreciated!


The People


This is me. I’m primarily a homemaker, but I also work as a fiber artist and web developer. I’m definitely the creative type, and I couldn’t be happier that the life we have built allows me to explore my talents in a huge range of media. I like to do as much as I can from scratch. Whether that means growing my own food, making my clothes, or simply cooking, it gives me a sense of pride. I’m also a yoga enthusiast, and hope to soon become certified as an instructor.

The Husband:

As you can guess, this is how I refer to my husband on the site. He’s a much more private person than I am so I do not use his real name. He’s an absolutely brilliant engineer, who is always able to come up with the best ways to get tasks done faster, cheaper, and higher-quality.


Our first (and so far only) child. For privacy purposes, I don’t use her full name or her photos on the site, but I do talk about her quite a bit. She’s a very curious baby, and shows a lot of interest in my daily activities. When I cook, she always wants to sit in her high chair and watch me. When I practice my yoga, she’s never happy unless she can be on the mat with me.

The Animals

We currently have five pets, all of which are rescues who come from a wide variety of circumstances. We care for three cats, an angora rabbit, and a huge dog. If you would like to see pictures of them all and read their individual bios, there is a whole section of the site devoted specifically to them!